Selling a Roberts radio to the Queen by Danus Skene

Harrods (London)“I left school in 1962 when I was 18 and went to London.  I worked in Harrod’s over the Christmas period in the Radio Department.  I was often repremanded because I called them wireless instead of radios.  My wages were £5 per week but I got commission which was very good because the radios were expensive.  One day the Queen came in with her bodyguard and 2 servants.  She wanted a very small radio, I was able to recommend a Roberts radio, but she didn’t buy it, that was left to her staff at a later date.”

Danus Skene was interviewed by Heather Heppenstall, WRVS Volunteer at Kinloss Coffee Morning, Kinloss Church

Leave a reply

