K.E. Anderson’s work as a telephonist

“I left school at 15 in 1961 and worked as a telephonist for the Ironmongers, Glegg & Thomson in Aberdeen.  I got the job because my mother organised it through the rep who came to our house to sell tools to my father for his Blacksmith business.  I always remember the rep because he came from Nairn and had a lovely clear accent, unlike the Aberdeen one.  I worked on the main switchboard and then learned to type and became a cashier for the front shop.  I had to make tea for everyone.  I worked there for 2 years, had Sundays off, and got paid £2 10/- per week.”

K.E. Anderson was interviewed by Heather Heppenstall, WRVS Volunteer at Kinloss Coffee Morning, Kinloss Church

One thought on “K.E. Anderson’s work as a telephonist

Leave a reply

